vmappingFor the first two weeks in December I had the honor of weaving through a range of important meetings at the intersection of arts and human rights.  In Brussels, I attended the Protect Defenders meeting, Defenders are not criminals – Countering criminalisation of Human Rights Defenders.  Then I went to the Malmo Safe Havens meeting and presented some of the new projects of ArtistSafety.net.  After which, my colleague Sidd Joag and I made a presentation on the expanded field of artist residency in Hildesheim (Germany) and I taught a class at the University of Hildesheim later in stay.  I passed through Paris to attend the 10th Intergovernmental Committee on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions where the Dakar-based collective, Ker Thiossane provided a video mapping at the end of the session.  Lastly, I ended up in Amsterdam to attend the 20th Anniversary Prince Claus Award for Culture & Development.

