into_sunlightA few months ago, I posted a blog on projects I helped to start with the observation that some of them don’t even mention me and the volunteer or discounted labor I gave to their emergence.  Lately, I’ve had some slightly different experiences with people writing to me to credit my initial interventions as foundational to some cool things going down.  I really, really appreciate that credit even if it is in the form of a quick email.  I’ll share a couple of these exchanges here en brev:

From Katharina [Germany/Sudan]:

Hope you are well! Reading your mail from 2011 I just see time flying past. In the meantime we were able to digitze around half of the private film archive of Gadallas work with funding from the German embassy. We did some workshops with young filmmakers in Khartoum around the work of Gubara and will have a presentation in Berlin from 20th  till 30ths of May. We are planning a bigger exhibition in Khartoum about him and his work, also showing photos, scripts etc. Through one of the workshop participants we are also now in touch with Ibrahim Shaddad finally, who, I just realized studied in the same German film school as me! We will have a screening of one of his films tomorrow. Also I met a France-based, Sudanese filmmaker currently working on a documentary about Sudanese Cinema in the 60s and 70s. So I just wanted to let you know, even though things take time, they are happening! Which is very exiting.  {Read more at freeDimensionalArsenal, and more on Ibrahim Shaddad, who I helped program into one of the first Amakula Kampala Film Festivals when based in Khartoum.}

From Gloria [NYC]:

It has been a long time, and I hope everything is going great for you. I wanted to let you know that because of you connecting me to Dinh Q. Le, and he then connecting me to dance companies in Vietnam, we are realizing the dream of bringing ‘Into Sunlight’ to Vietnam this September. We will be co-performing with Together Higher Dance Company of Hanoi in a three city tour September 22-30, 2015. I just wanted you to know the amazing chain reaction you set off, and to thank you for making the connection that ultimately led us to this place of great opportunity.  {Read more at Robin Becker Dance and World Policy Institute.}

***

I was also tickled to be thanked for my input by friend and author, DW Gibson in his new book, The Edge Becomes the Center: An Oral History of Gentrification in the 21st Century.  And, lastly, a little birdie told me that freeDimensional was accredited as a forebear of the new Artist Protection Fund that was announced this week by the Mellon Foundation and the Institute of International Education in Boston.

*Image from Into Sunlight

