1267255_10201604757496190_1063034354_oThis past week, I went home to Middle Tennessee to see the fam.  While going home always occasions the unexpected, I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by what I found!  When I arrived last Friday afternoon to Nashville, my buddy Toby was ready to get on the road to Kennesaw, Georgia where we would have an early start the next day at ‘Pork U‘ … yep, that’s right we spent a whole day learning the art of southern BBQ!!  But, before we could leave Nashville that night, we had to swing by the Southern Ground Music & Food Festival, where Kenny Rogers was headlining in a beautiful outdoor space right downtown.  A quick burger at the Hermitage Cafe and we were on the road, stopping the night on Monteagle (Mountain).

After a few days at home in Bradyville, I ventured up Short Mountain to the Sanctuary for its Fall Gathering.  This is the same mountain where I used to go to Bible camp … I certainly backmasked that childhood experience!!  I will go back to the Sanctuary for the Spring Gathering if anyone wants to join.

I ended my trip with a meeting at the Curb Center for Art, Enterprise & Public Policy at Vanderbilt University to talk about some common interests. New York City has had me feeling sorta tired lately … Big Apple, you better watch out cuz my ole hometown (state and region) has won me over again.

