logo_kristianiaLast night I had the honor of attending the Kristiania Salon.  Some friends of mine helped to start the Kristiania Collective.  I notice that in addition to smart reads and cool peeps, these folks are interested in some of the same questions I’ve encountered in my practice and that I’m addressing with the Lanchonete project in terms of organizational form.  They asked to hear more about the Lanchonete project and conveniently, I had a copy of my essay in the SARAI Reader, which did the trick.

The folks of say:

We believe that all art is inherently political, whether it sets out explicitly to be so or not.  Bad art reaffirms the existing power structures, both in its form and its content—its complacency is visible in every word.  Bad art also, of course, sacrifices the contradictory and human for a didactic propagandistic messaging.  Great art does neither.  Great art wears its politics with grace.  It contains a consciousness of its political context, but it’s not limited by these politics.  Great art serves no one.  Great art creates a change, a near cellular change, in those who encounter it.

The salon discussion will be broadcast on Radio Al Cabira.

